PDA

View Full Version : Newb questions regarding aperture inserts

BigJ
08-14-2012, 5:10 PM
Hey guys. I'm not sure where else to post this. I'm relatively new to target/match rimfire shooting, and I'm brand new to the idea of using Anshutz style front sight inserts. I have a Kimber 82G and it came with a handful of them for use. Mind suffering a few newb questions?

First, just based on eyeballing stuff, it would seem the smaller numbered disk is for use with further and further away targets? This seems obvious, but I don't want to assume incorrectly.

Second, is there some ratio that relates distance, to target size, to insert number? Like, for example if I have an 8" bull at 100 yards I should use a 1.8 insert (totally fabricated numbers just for example purposes). Or is this a much more 'preference' based decision?

And last (for now :), the rear sight's hole is a fixed pinhole diameter. When eyeballing things in though, obviously you can see a ton of 'stuff' thru it at distance. Are you supposed to just center the front sight's ring in the middle of the view thru the rear sight? Or is there some other alignment technique I'm not understanding?

Thanks for any help you can offer guys. I look forward to getting more into this sport as time allows. I'm already carving time away to get out there again soon :)

Izzy43
08-14-2012, 6:52 PM
Hey guys. I'm not sure where else to post this. I'm relatively new to target/match rimfire shooting, and I'm brand new to the idea of using Anshutz style front sight inserts. I have a Kimber 82G and it came with a handful of them for use. Mind suffering a few newb questions?

First, just based on eyeballing stuff, it would seem the smaller numbered disk is for use with further and further away targets? This seems obvious, but I don't want to assume incorrectly.