PDA

View Full Version : Is a Beretta 92FS suppose to do this?

Goop
08-13-2012, 10:47 AM
I’m pretty new to the 92FS and learning its safeties. I’m not sure but I think this used one I bought might have something wrong with it. After I rack the slide and the hammer gets set back there is something odd. If I push the slide forward slightly, it goes forward about another quarter inch and drops the hammer down. Since I’m not pulling the trigger I’m sure it wont fire but I haven’t seen anything like that before. Should I just be able to tap the slide after racking it as a way of decocking? Is that normal feature or is something awry?

I have to think its a problem because a lot of the time if i'm manipulating the safety it will give that little push to cause the hammer to drop. It is kinda scary to flip it to fire and instantly the hammer falls down.

Suvorov
08-13-2012, 10:49 AM
Your safety/decock is on and you are riding the slide forward! Do not do this, release the slide and let it go forward. If you safety is off, then the hammer will stay back, if it is on, then the hammer will decock.

This is normal!

Read the instruction manual PLEASE!

Goop
08-13-2012, 10:57 AM
See thats the problem, with the safety off it STILL decocks if i just tap the slide a little bit in the back. I know it auto decocks when putting it to safety, its suppose to do that. But with safety off and hammer back if i just tap the back of slide a little the hammer drops.

Suvorov
08-13-2012, 11:12 AM
I'll have to check the manual again, that is typically normal i thought when ENABLING the safety. I noticed this occurs just when i just tap the back of the slide.

If your safety/decock is ON, then it will decock the hammer when the gun goes into battery automatically.

If your slide moves forward when you tap it, then it is not going into battery most likely because you are riding the slide forward.

Try this with an unloaded firearm with no magazine: