View Full Version : AD Military/ AR-15 and Walther22 Confused???

08-11-2012, 9:34 AM
Hey all,
Im new to CalGuns and new to Cali. I'm coming frm the eastcoast and I'm a AD Mil member. Got a few questions that maybe some or all of you can answer or help me with. I have a palmetto state armory AR-15 that I own so I called the Cal Bureau of Firearms to see if I could have it and if it was legal, well one guy said I "good to go" because I was a AD Mil member not a permenant resident of Cali and cause it wasnt on their "banded list" just as long as I don't have a clip/ mag in it that was more than 10 rds which I thought I was in the clear, but at the same time I shot them a email(no pun intended, lol) earlier with all the same info and another person called me back telling me that I couldn't have it AT ALL. Now I fig they were the experts but I'm doubting their intel and knowledge, can you all help me with this delimma and shed some light on the subject? Thanks a mil! My other question was about my walther .22, one said I was fine to have it and another said I couldn't have it, something about it was illegal if my barrel was threaded, I looked and it's not threaded and when I called S&W they said it wasn't threaded for a silencer or suppressor type accessories and I would need a special tool to remove some type of part but it's not made for silencer/ suppressor attachments, so can I still keep this too? Sorry for the extensive message, lol.

08-11-2012, 9:41 AM
Welcome to CalGuns. A Lot of good info here and plenty of knowledgeable folks on guns and gun laws in this crappy state.

08-11-2012, 9:50 AM
For your AR, follow the flowchart and OLL assembly guide link at the top. If you've got a collapsible buttstock, flash hider or pistol grip (yeah, you most definitely have that) then you're gonna need to replace your magazine release button with one that requires a tool (bullet button)