PDA

View Full Version : I may be returning to CA, I've done some research. Will you all validate my thinking?

krby
08-02-2012, 7:23 AM
It's possible I'll be moving back to CA next year. As part of this, I've been researching what I need to be legal and bring everything back. I don't want to do anything permanent because once I'm a CA resident, I'll still travel with these items to other states. Here's my plan:

- Newish AR-15 from Daniel Defense. 16" barrel, 32-ish" overall when collapsed, with a bunch of "evil features".

Before I move, I plan to install a raddlock. I like the idea of being able to switch back to non-CA mode pretty easily once I get to a class or shoot in a different state. Or should I just buy a bullet button and decide to put the stock magazine release back in? Is it legal for me to keep the stock magazine release as a separate part while I'm in CA? If I ever sold this to someone outside CA, I'd sell that with it include in the box.

- 20 and 30rng mags for the above rifle.

I plan to disassemble all of them and buy 10/30 and 10/20 mags. I'd keep the 30rnd parts for when I travel out of state. So I do plan on reassembling the 30rnd magazines, but only when out of CA, and disassembling before I return to CA. I'm ok here right?