View Full Version : Frum's rebuttal from last weeks CNN article

07-31-2012, 9:29 AM
Has anyone seen this? Any response?

07-31-2012, 10:13 AM
Being a statistician myself, I don't doubt that what he's saying is true. It may very well be that the number of murders and attempted murders exceeds the number of self-defense shootings and brandishings.

I would respond, though, by asking this: If a law statistically makes us "safer," does that automatically mean we should pass it?

For instance, one could argue that requiring police to get warrants for searches increases crime, since it allows criminals to hide or destroy evidence before it is found. Does that mean we should do away with the Fourth Amendment?

Moreover, the statistical effects of certain behavior can be positive in cases even where the overall average effect is negative. For example, when calculating car insurance prices, generally speaking, having an expensive car makes your rate go up (since repairing any damage would be more expensive). But for old people, it can make your rate go down, because old people who drive expensive cars tend to be very careful with them and drive them less. The effects of these things can be ambiguous depending on how you drill down into the data.

Unfortunately, it doesn't seem like we're going to get solid data on self-defense uses anytime soon, and even if we did, it might not be to our liking.

07-31-2012, 10:23 AM
This is an article with an agenda. To make a point, the author should pick apart the anti-gun argument about the number of gun-related deaths and open the discussion on the main contributor to the US gun statistics - the armed organized crime.

Besides, the self defense is not even mentioned in 2A. There are many other reasons to own guns, most of which are not related to personal protection.

07-31-2012, 10:43 AM