PDA

View Full Version : Wife won a gun yesterday in a raffle.

ASTMedic
07-30-2012, 11:45 AM
So while I'm stuck working yesterday the wife and her grandma headed out to local AA baseball game. The Friends of the NRA had a raffle going, $20 a ticket and only 50 sold. Sure enough she won. She basically gets her choice up to $450 of a gun from one of the local shops. Thinking about taking it as a gift card and adding a little money to get her something she'll be really happy with.

That being said I need some recommendations on a striker fired semi auto handgun. She's got a .38 snubby right now and I own and carry 1911's. Other than holding and shooting a few here and there I have no experience with striker fired systems. The .45 is a bit much for her so she's looking into a 9mm or .40. I'm a little worried with her having just a "trigger safety" type gun. She's shot glocks and likes the gun but I'd like to see an external safety on the gun. Thoughts?

dieselpower
07-30-2012, 12:08 PM
Glock 19 or Glock 17. There is no other choice..ignore the XD crowd they suffer from delusional thinking... :hide:

glock21fan
07-30-2012, 12:12 PM
Ruger lc9

InGrAM
07-30-2012, 12:13 PM
^ that is a true glock fanboy up there, lol.

The Ruger SR9 is striker fired with a thumb safety and it is cheap.
http://www.ruger.com/products/sr9/models.html

I would also look at the M&P9 it is an excellent striker-fried pistol.

glock21fan
07-30-2012, 12:17 PM
Lol. Hell I don't even have my g21 anymore. There's also the kahrs that on sale come down to that price range.

ASTMedic
07-30-2012, 12:18 PM
^ that is a true glock fanboy up there, lol.

The Ruger SR9 is striker fired with a thumb safety and it is cheap.

I would also look at the M&P9 it is an excellent striker-fried pistol.