View Full Version : Which rifle to buy??

07-28-2012, 4:24 PM
Hi there,

I'm new to the forum and I was wondering if you could offer any opinions or ideas. I was in ROTC in college and was pretty good with an M-16 (I was a sharpshooter twice and expert markswoman once) but that was about 15 years ago. I would really like to do some target shooting... just maybe 25 and 50m and I went to my local gun shop and asked what the civilian version of the M-16 would be since that's all I've ever shot and they handed me a very nice $1200 rifle haha. I handed it back and said "Ok... that's very nice. What would be a step down from that?" They then handed me a $900 rifle...

My budget for everything right now is about $450-$500 so I've been told that I could buy something called a Ruger 10-22 for about $250-$300 and then get a decent scope for the top and be within my price range. Does anybody have an opinion on this Ruger 10-22 or have any other ideas for my price range? Eventually I'd like to do some competing, but for right now I'd just like to go to the range with something that isn't going to break the bank for me and have some fun. Thanks so much for any help you could give me!!

07-28-2012, 4:31 PM
10-20, you already got your answer.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

07-28-2012, 4:43 PM
Any .22 by Savage, Marlin or Ruger would serve you well. Also Henry.

If I had that much to spend, I'd probably get a Savage, put a decent scope on it and use the rest of the money to stock up on ammo.

07-28-2012, 5:25 PM
Ruger makes a great bolt action rifle at a great price...
I just got the american rifle in 308 and added a nice scope and I have about 550.00 in this rifle with dros and transfer. I got it out of state.. 359 for rifle. 100 for scope and about 100 for fees after all done.

http://im1.shutterfly.com/media/47a2d822b3127ccef01372bea2b500000030O00AcNmTJk1ZNm QPbz4M/cC/f%3D0/ps%3D50/r%3D0/rx%3D550/ry%3D400/

07-28-2012, 6:11 PM