PDA

View Full Version : CNN has an article with a request.

Ratboy
07-24-2012, 6:17 PM
They want to hear from gun owners. I've read a number of them and most are pretty good.

Here's a link to one of them: http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-819622

IVC
07-24-2012, 6:33 PM
The article is factually incorrect. Heller settled that the 2A addresses a right that is not connected to the membership in a state militia and that it's an individual right.

These days we don't have to argue "militia" and "collective right" concepts since the court settled it. We can simply say "it doesn't work that way, go do your homework."

Ratboy
07-24-2012, 6:37 PM
True.

That may not have been the best one to have the link for but there are a few people speaking up. Some of them are off the mark, some are just posting bs to post but there are some good ones.

ASTMedic
07-24-2012, 6:40 PM
Had to post this one since I thought it was so good:

I am young. I have "hipster" friends. I have a graduate degree in Environmental History. I consider myself an academic in every sense of the word. I am a vegetarian. I believe in global warming. I am active, healthy, informed, and generally a paragon of the liberal arts educated, white, middleclass American.
With of these factors in mind, one might find my love of guns surprising. In fact, my wife and I currently own three: a .380 handgun designed specifically for carrying comfortably, a .40 handgun with 15rd ammo capacity, and a shotgun that, though sometimes used for skeet shooting, sits hidden in my bedroom loaded with police buckshot. I donít hunt, and doubt I have what it takes to kill an animal; especially since I am a vegetarian.
So why the heck does someone like me own a gun, have a concealed carry permit, and become extremely excited when President Obama allowed guns into Americaís National Parks? Why do I support a further loosening of gun controls; particularly with respect to where I can take a loaded firearm? Here are four reasons: