PDA

View Full Version : Why do higher cap magazines jam?

haveyourmile
07-24-2012, 1:01 PM
The guy in Arizona had a 33 rd glock magazine that jammed, psycho in CO had a 100 rd drum that jammed. Ive seen numerous posts on CG talking about how higher cap magazines are notorious for jamming. I don't own or shoot anything but 10 rd mags... Can someone tell me why it is that higher capacity magazines are more likely to jam?

Bhobbs
07-24-2012, 1:02 PM
Probably because the springs have to push much greater mass while the weapon cycles. The rounds don't get pushed up fast enough.

Diabolus
07-24-2012, 1:04 PM
Those 100 round mags jam so much they aren't fun to shoot.

voiceofreason
07-24-2012, 1:06 PM
My grandfathered 9mm & .40 glock factory mags have NO issues, including the 33 rounders.

I believe the Surefire very high capacity magazines are supposed to be pretty reliable, but I've never used them before.

NotEnufGarage
07-24-2012, 1:09 PM
Improper break-in and maintenance.

Just like 1911 mags, they need to be cleaned, lubricated, cycled, cleaned and lubricated again to feed smoothly and reliably. Dropping them in the dust is all it takes to jam things up. The bigger the mag, the more impact dirt will have on them.

When I get a new 1911 magazine, I disassemble it, clean it, lube it then sit and watch TV for a while, while I'm cycling the follower up and down with a pencil, just to get it nice and smooth. Takes care of most stove-pipes and feed failures.

One little burr or some dirt, and the followers don't move smoothly.

tbhracing
07-24-2012, 1:13 PM
This is Off Topic. Can you please post in the correct area.

Citadelgrad87
07-24-2012, 1:45 PM