PDA

View Full Version : Would like to go back hunting... newbie here.

bryanrmt
07-22-2012, 11:11 AM
Hello guys, I have been living here in California for 3 years now after I migrated here from my home country. I was into hunting back there in my home land and it was easy to do it there.. I just get my rifle and some ammo and go to the mountains and hunt.. I can even go by myself if I wanted to. I'm planning to get into that thing again here in California but I don't know where to start... is there any organization out there for a newbie hunters? Also what type of rifles do I need to have here to hunt deer down to rabbits?

devil83dog@hotmail.com
07-22-2012, 11:15 AM
all you need is a 30.06 :jump:

devil83dog@hotmail.com
07-22-2012, 11:16 AM
a hunting license and some tags for jack rabbits............well.......at least here in socal.....

toby
07-22-2012, 11:38 AM
Bryan, welcome to Calguns, you will need to attend a safety class 8-10 hrs you can do part of that online. There are special seasons for each variety of game, some seasons overlap some do not. All big game requires Tags for that species, small game requires no tags except for Bobcats, you will need at least two if not three different guns for hunting. rimfire,centerfire,shotgun,these requirements will vary depending on animals hunted. Check out the STICKY second down from top of this page (DFG) information.

bryanrmt
07-22-2012, 11:41 AM
I didn't even know what 30.06 means until I google it.. btw will I still be able to eat some rabbits meat after I shot them with it? LOL!

I was only using airgun type of rifle before and its really effective on those mountain chicken we called "Labuyo". Pretty much accurate too.

chknlyps2
07-22-2012, 6:28 PM
What area are you in? If you are close enough to Bass Pro Shop they have a hunters safety class and when I took my son to it, they gave you the fee back in a gift card to spend in the store. I thought that was pretty cool.

mzhunter
07-22-2012, 6:32 PM