PDA

View Full Version : Newb! TGIF & a few questions for your amusement

pinner
07-20-2012, 9:21 AM
First, thanks to all of the Calgunners out there for sharing their knowledge and passion. I have only been checking out the forums for the last month or so, and I have really appreciated all of the awesome info I’ve found here. Thank you!

I am going to be buying a shotgun for HD, and have already bought a safe (again, thanks to some awesome info found here on Calguns!). I have a couple of random newb questions, just putting it out there if anyone has any nuggets of wisdom handy while they drink their morning coffee :D Apologies if I shouldn’t post here – I can post to a diff section of the forum if best!

I recently shot an 20 ga 870 at Targetmasters in Milpitas, only the 2nd gun I’ve shot (1st was a smith/Wesson 9m) – what I was floored by was how much fun it was! I am completely new to guns, so along the with shotgun, I am also interested in a picking up a Ruger 10/22 as well to shoot more regularly and learn some basic stuff.

NRA First Steps Shotgun class – Any recommendations for who teaches it in the Bay Area? I completed the 1st steps handgun class, and want to do the same thing with the shotgun. Guns are still VERY new to me, and I want to be as comfortable as possible with the Mossberg, handling, fit, components, maintenance, ammo options, handling jams, basic range etiquette, basics of California laws etc. I really enjoyed shooting it for the first time, and to be honest, I can’t wait to go again.

Shopping – any recommended websites are out there with good bargains, shipping deals and customer service? Mostly for accessories like cases or bits to customize? Cheapest ammo?

Used Guns – like everyone, I’m on an annoying budget, but every $20 bucks counts. Can’t help but want to put some stuff in that new safe! Any reliable places to find them, or things to avoid? I prob should skip since I couldn’t spot any flaws or issues (not that smart yet!)?