PDA

View Full Version : Lee Pro 1000 Fix

BACKTOSHOOTING
07-19-2012, 8:35 PM
I'm new to reloading and purchased a Lee Pro 1000 compleate set up in 9mm and 45acp and had problems with the Pro powder return chain set continualy breaking and tried the picture frame cable fix and kept breaking that also. :mad:

Also on this machine the spring on the end of that chain pushes the shell plate assy up to clear the primmer shaft so in can rotate.

So i sat and looked at it and and realized :D I can make this work right :D

To start with there is a threaded hole on the front left side under the disscharge chute and thought I can put a stock Glock 21 recoil spring in there and cut the plastic shaft on it to push the shell plate assy up so i cut the Glock recoil spring small end off the shaft and kept cutting the spring and checking the clearance till i was satisfied that it woud clear the primmer pin and it fit perfectly and works great. You can leave the plastic shaft long as it sits inside the threaded hole of the press.

Now to fix the pro powder measure i got a spring thats about 5" or 6" or so long that streaches preety far [was off a plate dissplay rack that mounts on a wall] and attached it to the hole where the chain used to go up thru and to the arm of the powder measure with a pice of stiff wire so it will return to the closed position after charging the shell. It works great now and cant break.

Hope this helps someone else, Heres some picks i took to help show it all.

JNunez23
07-19-2012, 10:07 PM
Nice work.

MrNiceGuy
07-19-2012, 10:13 PM
You sir are a genius! :clap:

CalTeacher
07-19-2012, 10:15 PM
You could have just provided more slack for the chain, but nice handiwork nonetheless.

Cowboy T
07-20-2012, 7:17 AM
Hey, that's a slick fix, especially that bit with the 5" spring. Those are easier to find than a small bungee cord. Thanks!

klewan
07-20-2012, 9:26 AM