PDA

View Full Version : Bow pull exercise?

VFX_man
07-17-2012, 9:54 PM
Got to thinking - what kind of exercises can you can do throughout the day (at work/gym) for bow pull strength increase. I found this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiPwPZ-54NY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Any other recommendations on something you could do sans-bow?

Cheers!

180ls1
07-17-2012, 11:23 PM
bent over rows and pullups are great for the back, you gotta do more then a 1 gallon jug of water unless your draw weight is 5 lbs and your going to hunt flys. I imagine shoulder exercises are great also for keeping the bow steady. So overhead press and dumbbell raises should help quite a bit also.

44fred
07-18-2012, 10:15 AM
How about practicing shooting and pulling your bow string. Sounds elementary but your muscles will eventually develop with plenty of practice.

I started shooting in high school (35+ years ago). When I could finally afford a compound my muscles were already developed from shooting my 65lb recurve. The let off back then was not that much compared to today's modern compounds. I was a pretty strong guy back then but some much stronger friends of mine could barley pull my compound back, certainly not smoothly.

Practice, practice, practice. You will get sore just like any other workout until those muscles develop.

jmonte35
07-18-2012, 10:25 AM
shoot your bow...

VFX_man
07-18-2012, 12:23 PM
How about practicing shooting and pulling your bow string. Sounds elementary but your muscles will eventually develop with plenty of practice.

I started shooting in high school (35+ years ago). When I could finally afford a compound my muscles were already developed from shooting my 65lb recurve. The let off back then was not that much compared to today's modern compounds. I was a pretty strong guy back then but some much stronger friends of mine could barley pull my compound back, certainly not smoothly.