PDA

View Full Version : SBR Uppers in CA?

DWood
07-16-2012, 11:09 AM
I have an offer from a CA resident to buy my 7.5" 5.56 upper. It is the upper only, no revceiver. Are there any restricyions on me shipping the upper to CA?

Akers
07-16-2012, 11:13 AM
Shipping it, no...using it on a rifle with a buttstock without the proper authorization...yes.

Planning an SBR or Pistol?

rero360
07-16-2012, 11:17 AM
Provided that the buyer intends on using the upper on a pistol lower, no problems at all. SBRs (minus a select few who are more equal than everyone else) are forbidden in CA, however there is no problems with AR pistols.

I suppose if you want you can have the buyer make a statement that the upper is intended for a pistol only, however I can't imagine you being legally culpable one way or the other, but I'm no lawyer so take it for what its worth.

Dantedamean
07-16-2012, 11:26 AM
There's also a constructive possession for unregistered NFA weapons. If you or him own a lower, even if it has an upper on it, with the short barrel upper you can be guilty of constructive possession. Unless you have a tax stamp or are a class 3 FFL. The only way to avoid constructive possession, from what I've been told on these forums, is to have the upper on a pistol lower and registered as such.

Lagduf
07-16-2012, 11:38 AM
Yes It's legal to sell the upper to a CA resident. The buyer is responsible for following CA and Federal Law.

mag360
07-16-2012, 11:40 AM
That is not correct. I can build a lower from 80% and slap that 7.5" upper on no probs.

repubconserv
07-16-2012, 11:41 AM
There's also a constructive possession for unregistered NFA weapons. If you or him own a lower, even if it has an upper on it, with the short barrel upper you can be guilty of constructive possession. Unless you have a tax stamp or are a class 3 FFL. The only way to avoid constructive possession, from what I've been told on these forums, is to have the upper on a pistol lower and registered as such.