PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a lathe-style trimmer

Javi
07-15-2012, 11:27 AM
I have zero experience reloading but am pretty close to having all the gear I need to get started. One of the last few things I want here is a lathe style trimmer. I almost went with a nice looking LE Wilson trimmer since it's only $40! But there's no vice here & case holders are $20 each =/ These are my top two, anyone have experience with them?

1) Hornady Cam-lock case trimmer:

http://media.midwayusa.com/productimages/large/315/315831.jpg

Appears to work great and comes with some pilots. Cons are that it has to take Hornady shell holders but at least they're cheaper than my RCBS ones.

2) RCBS Trim Pro-2

http://media.midwayusa.com/productimages/large/817/817007.jpg

I guess this is their newer, updated version. I like that they got rid of the need of shell holders even though I own 3 rcbs ones. It's more expensive up front but will probably be cheaper in the long run without buying $5 Hornady shell holders. I'm guessing it performs just like the first one which I assume is good? I've forgotten to look up reviews for how it cuts :)

I don't know how much I will be trimming for .38spl, 9mm & 6.5x55 Swede so lathe style is fine for me. I just want it to cut consistently, pretty easy to setup and give accurate lengths. Thanks!

mroels
07-15-2012, 11:54 AM
I just started reloading and I'm using a cheapo Lee zip trim. It works fine for me on .223. But I'm not doing huge quantities

Californio
07-15-2012, 12:31 PM
In the last 30 years I have never had to trim pistol brass.

In bottleneck rifle cases I use this for plink loads

http://www.lymanproducts.com/lyman/case-trimmers/universal-power-trimmer.php

and a hand unit only on my Lapua Brass as it is low volume.

Javi
07-15-2012, 1:04 PM