PDA

View Full Version : Help: Scraping sound while bullet seating

mroels
07-13-2012, 9:43 PM
I'm seating some .223 68gr hornady match bullets into black hills once fired cases. These have been FL sized, trimmed, chamfered, and deburred. It's making a scraping sound when seating the bullet, I can feel it even. I tried to seat one in a PMC case and no scraping effect. Tried a 69gr Sierra SMK and again scraping in the BHA brass but none in the pmc brass?

On a side note (mind you I'm still a newbie first time using anything but SMK bullets), are the 68grs supposed to be longer than the 69grs? The bullet itself?

NoNOS67
07-13-2012, 10:27 PM
Hmmm...compressed charge?

mroels
07-13-2012, 10:39 PM
Okay I should've probably mentioned I'm using Varget for the first time, and it's filling cases much more than ramshot TAC I've used up to now. The initial pmc case I seated in to compare didn't have any powder, now loaded a pmc case and yes there's the scraping, or I guess crunching sound.

mroels
07-13-2012, 10:52 PM
Ok read up it, guess its normal. Thanks for pointing me into the right direction NoNos

NoNOS67
07-13-2012, 11:14 PM
Ok read up it, guess its normal. Thanks for pointing me into the right direction NoNos

Glad I could help! I've grown somewhat fond of that sound. :)

Innovative
07-15-2012, 6:34 AM
mroels ........

Some bullets will get shaved by the brass during seating - even with a chamfered case mouth. When you chamfer your brass, be sure to use a VLD reamer. The chamfer angle is more important with some bullets than others. Also, don't forget to clean the inside of your case necks.

mroels
07-15-2012, 12:21 PM
In this case it really was just the powder compression. But thanks for the advice. Reading up on vld reamers I will have to get one since I pretty much only load boat tail bullets. Any advice on brand?

Innovative
07-15-2012, 2:33 PM
mroels .........