PDA

View Full Version : 30 round mags and featureless

j.hors
07-10-2012, 10:14 PM
I need a little clarification, if you run a featureless build you can use mags> then 10 rounds, or does that only apply to those mags that were owned before a certain year, and if so what if i were to get mine from my home state and bring them back? Clarification: i go back to Colorado and get mags greater tehn 10 rounds could i legally use them in my featureless AR?

ClarenceBoddicker
07-10-2012, 10:17 PM
Yes you can legally use 10+ rounds with a featureless semi auto that is over 30" OAL. To legally own 10+ round mags you had to possess them in CA before 2000.

Bigtwin
07-10-2012, 10:19 PM
I am no lawyer but the best I understand it is NO! By going home to bring the 30rd mag back(or having them shipped back), would be illegal importation of a "high capacity" magazine!
So as I read the law it would only apply to magazines that were owned in California prior to the ban.

I know....this state sucks!

repubconserv
07-10-2012, 10:19 PM
I need a little clarification, if you run a featureless build you can use mags> then 10 rounds, or does that only apply to those mags that were owned before a certain year, and if so what if i were to get mine from my home state and bring them back? Clarification: i go back to Colorado and get mags greater tehn 10 rounds could i legally use them in my featureless AR?

If you possessed those magazines in CA Before 2000 you can have them in CA and run them in featureless rifle. You can not buy/import/build new Hi-caps though.

j.hors
07-10-2012, 10:24 PM
well that blows sack oh well, i didnt even come here until 2006

Cobrafreak
07-11-2012, 5:30 AM
If you owned hi caps in the State before Jan 1st 2000 and left the state and came back later you may still legally hold your high cap magazines. I found a DOJ letter confirming this fact. Oh, this < is greater than, this > is less than :)

jwkincal
07-11-2012, 7:08 AM