PDA

View Full Version : SKS magazine question.

Necro55
07-09-2012, 5:00 PM
Hello all,
I am new to Calguns, and just read a lot of documentation and it has left me with a question/concern.

In Spring of 2002 I purchased a SKS RETAIL and have it registered, standard 10 round capacity fed through the top via manual loading or stripper clips. The gun has only one thing that was NOT on it when I purchased it, and that is a retractable bipod mounted on the unused bayonet mount. That is the ONLY addition, and nothing has been removed from the rifle at this point.

It has an older, frankly ugly, fiberglass stock on it, that is bleeding the color dye out of it, and I am wanting to replace it, which brought me to a concern. I read several things about removable magazines, and you have to have a tool to remove it before most other mods can be done.

Now I apologize up front for not having the proper vocabulary, I have been shooting for many years and am self taught in many areas, so unfortunately, proper terminology has been a bit lacking, which I am working on.

Now to my concern. The magazine is effectively 2 pieces, like an inner sleeve that the rounds are up against and an outer shell which has a tensioned bar that the rounds rest on, basically a flat spring. If I pull the release between the magazine and the trigger guard the outer portion of the magazine WILL drop and can be removed easily by squeezing the spring into the magazine “housing”. I can remove it, but its not like I could load rounds into it and put it back into the gun. This appears to be a design simply to be able to clean the magazine, definitely not for quick reloading.

At this point since I can remove it, I am leery of replacing the stock. I want to replace it with a modern pistol-grip with fore-grip stock. The only other item I am wanting to change is my upper receiver cover to the one that has a tri-rail so I can mount my optics on it.