PDA

View Full Version : Perceived Dilemma of a Gun Addict

jdg30
07-07-2012, 9:28 PM
I have a situation that has been on my mind for some time and I can't figure out what I should do so I'm asking for a little advice or suggestions. I have quite a few guns (mostly handguns) in all the popular calibers and I literally have a type of gun that could cover every type of situation that I would ever need a gun(self defense, CCW, recreation, teaching others to shoot, home defense, offensive assault etc.). I've been working up my collection for about 12 years now.

My problem is that I have guns that are similar to others and share the same purpose that I don't really use, but I still like them. I've sold some guns before and have regretted a few sales, but others I haven't even given a second thought about. I recently posted a few guns for sale that I don't really use but have significant money invested in. Part of me wants to sell them and get the money, but part of me just wants to keep them because they are real nice guns.

It seems that you will never get the money you actually paid for a gun back when selling it. I don't have a problem losing a little money on a sale after I used the gun, but I struggle with the decision to sell some guns at a loss or keep them because I like them, but never shoot them and probably won't shoot them much in the future.

Some people here would probably say they want to have my situation and I'm crazy, but I really would prefer to have only guns I shoot on a regular basis and not ones that I like but know I probably won't use anymore. I figure that my bases would be well covered with a semi-auto rifle, shotgun, a few revolvers and a few semi-autos in the most popular calibers (.45, .40, 9mm).