PDA

View Full Version : Need Help quickly (RO/TRO process)

Mr_franksmith
07-05-2012, 4:47 PM
Just hit with a bogus restraining order and need to transfer some rifles within 24hrs.
Any help will be appreciated.

morrcarr67
07-05-2012, 4:56 PM
I don't have the code but it has been said in this forum that the only legal thing you can do is turn them over to your LEO.

Mesa Tactical
07-05-2012, 5:01 PM
1. Get good Buddy and sell all guns to him for $1
2. Go to gun store and PPT them all to him.
3. Show transfer paperwork to court.
4. Resolve issues.
5. Buy back guns from Buddy for $1

I am not experienced in this area, but from what I understand this is not legally possible,

Anyway, what is legally possible should be spelled out on the restraining order.

RandyD
07-05-2012, 5:04 PM
Attorney here. Read the restraining order, you have two choices; 1) turn over to police or 2) sell to an FFL holder. There are no other options, which means you can't sell your firearms to your friends, family or anyone else.

Sorry to hear about your circumstances, get an attorney to help you through this. Most people do not understand this process. If you represent yourself, and botch the job of representing yourself, you do not get a free do over.

Mr_franksmith
07-05-2012, 5:05 PM
Was told I could sell to a friend. Just need to do a transfer thru a FFL Dealer.

Mesa Tactical
07-05-2012, 5:08 PM
Was told I could sell to a friend. Just need to do a transfer.

If Randy (family lawyer) is correct, then you were given bad advice, and that could bite you in the *** later.

You really need to get the correct scoop, and not from an internet message board.

HowardW56
07-05-2012, 5:08 PM
Just hit with a bogus restraining order and need to transfer some rifles within 24hrs.

You have a restraining order.

The REQUIREMENTS are...

Surrender them to local police or sheriff for safekeeping.
Sell them to a FFL.
Anything else and you take your chances with the Judge...

Try these two....