PDA

View Full Version : few question about building an upper ar10

G38xOC
06-27-2012, 8:58 PM
My main goal was to save up and get an ar10 upper from JP rifles . as i was building one from their page to see how much it will cost , I found out their upper only compatible with their own lower ... looking..searching..continues .. ..

then , I found these uppers assemblies that will fit ( 4 diff company )

1.Fulton Armory
2.DPMS
3.Rock River
4.Model1sales

*if your me , what company would you chooose ?

I think JP barrels are really great barrels . all though i have no experience on any of them 5 companies I've mentioned . thats why , if I can build parts by parts , I can purchase the receiver ( one that works on lower ) , barrel ( JP ) , handgaurd , gas block , etc ... etc .. but my real concern is that , I have no tools and dont have any experience on putting upper together .

do you think , i should get the complete upper and be done with it . or if its even worth to invest on tools and other necessary items order to build it for just one time use ?

any help will be appreciated

thanks

1*mike
06-27-2012, 9:07 PM
I'm subscribing to this thread. I'm in the early stages of (intel gathering) of a 308 at build.

kemikalembalance
06-27-2012, 9:32 PM
All great companies, just did a transfer with model 1, they are about 2 to 3 months out...a month ago. "JD machining" seemed well built, but don't know the barrels. You can go to Rainier Arms (.com) and get the parts and build a damn good upper. Tool investment is not bad, but it depends on the for end you use. Between the brands, most are either DPMS or ARMALITE bolt patterns.

If you have the money, you can go with LaRue Tactical, but be ready to dump 3,000 to 3,500 and wait for 16 weeks.

When shopping, make sure to check the compatibility of the barrel nuts and lowers before buying. good luck dude

kemikalembalance
06-27-2012, 9:36 PM
http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/browse&category=arvariants_receivers-upper