View Full Version : Upland hunting info

WDE91
06-27-2012, 9:24 AM
Well I have recently started getting into shotgun shooting
I picked up a 12gauge Wingmaster and have started doing more clay shooting

here is a picture of me after a morning of trap at Prado
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd301/bjkearns/8c4eb07f.jpg

I have never been hunting before so yes total newb :o

A buddy of mine has got a raisin opperation up in the Fresno area and says he has got doves :cool2:

here is the info I know

season runs 9/1-9/15
I am pretty sure I need a hunting license
I know bag limit is 10 a day
I am assuming that I will need to put the plug in the magazine

I have got questions like
Will I need a Dove permit or the likes?
Will lead shot be allowed for dove?

Any other info and suggestions is welcomed
Thank you for your help
Joseph Kearns

WDE91
06-27-2012, 9:32 AM
found some more info here
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/regulations/11-12-upland-sum.html

so it looks like there is 2 seasons for Dove an early and a late

WDE91
06-27-2012, 9:35 AM
313 looks like I will need an Upland stamp
http://www.fgc.ca.gov/regulations/current/uplandgamebirdregs.aspx#300b1b

I will also need to put my plug in

portegee
06-27-2012, 9:42 AM
You will need the upland game bird validation, and the HIP validation. Those will allow you to hunt all the upland game birds in CA. There is two seasons for dove and my experience in Fresno/Madera has been that the second season slows down a bit, but you can still get as many shots it just takes a little bit longer to pull your limit. Just be forwarned hunting the grey gost is addictive and much more difficult than a lot of people think when they first get into it.

Happy hunting

ScottB
06-27-2012, 9:50 AM
You definitly need to take the hunter safety course and buy a license plus the upland game stamp ($8?) and HIP stamp (free). Shotguns can hold no more than 3 rounds, including the round in the chamber. This is the most common ticket wardens write.