PDA

View Full Version : is this illegal??

kcjr1125
06-26-2012, 6:29 AM
I am interested in purchasing a rifle from someone who just moved to california from tx which is where he bought his rifle. he wants to just do a cash and carry type of deal on a mini 14 rifle. i am almost 100% sure this is not possible but he is insisting to not go through a FFL. since he imported the rifle from TX does that change anything or is it the same as if he would have bought it here? I am new to the arena of Firearms and to california laws as well so please forgive my ignorance. One more thing what happens if i did do this with this seller? what are the consequences and how would the DOJ or whatever know i did this?

Brandon04GT
06-26-2012, 6:35 AM
Illegal. You must conduct the transfer through an FFL. Why is he insisting not to go through an FFL? That is suspicious to say the least. As far as he should be concerned, he would be immediately getting the payment from you anyway, so I don't see any legitimate reason for his concern.

MIAMIbaseballer
06-26-2012, 6:44 AM
Illegal and very suspicious

kcjr1125
06-26-2012, 7:08 AM
this is his email "Wow I told you in one of my e-mails that I didn't want to deal with paperwork and I just wanted to sell it outright you give cash I give gun"

my response:
I know you said that and if we were in TX that would work, reality is we are in california and in california we can not do that LEGALLY. if im wrong then ill take it but when it comes to private party transfers in CAlifornia we have to take it to a licensed dealer and have them do what they do then i will have to wait 10 days to own it.

GillaFunk
06-26-2012, 7:11 AM
BURN HIM!

peter95
06-26-2012, 7:12 AM
Illegal.
If you have to ask, its illegal.
Avoid him. He wants to do this cash and carry because he's probably got something to hide.

Avoid him at all costs.

Fate
06-26-2012, 7:21 AM