PDA

View Full Version : Ar for a lefty

Tumbleweed13
06-26-2012, 2:12 AM
I'm researching, to build an AR. I'm completely new to this. My question is:
Is there a special lower that I must get, to work with a left hand upper? Is getting an ambi safty, all I need for the lower?

Nodda Duma
06-26-2012, 3:11 AM
I run a stag arms left hand a2 config that I built up while I was still in CA. The lower is the same, left or right. The left-handedness is all in the upper.

-Jason

strongpoint
06-26-2012, 3:51 AM
there's some discussion about setting up ambi uppers and lowers in an older thread here (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=570631).

Curley Red
06-26-2012, 8:52 AM
Only the upper receiver, bcg, and the barrel adapter need to be ambi. I used Stag for mine.

Omega13device
06-26-2012, 9:05 AM
This comes up once a week or so.

Your focus should be on the lower as that's where you're actually manipulating things. Just get an ambi safety selector and you're good to go. If you run featureless you can have an ambi mag release too. If you're using a bullet button you can't go ambi but the standard mag release location is pretty easy to manipulate with your support hand anyway.

A left-handed upper provides zero benefit to lefties. The fact that it ejects on the left is worthless since standard uppers have a brass deflector anyway, and this comes at the cost of non-standard parts, limited suppliers, and a limited market if you want to sell.

Ken Woodford
06-26-2012, 10:13 AM

Your focus should be on the lower as that's where you're actually manipulating things. Just get an ambi safety selector and you're good to go. If you run featureless you can have an ambi mag release too. If you're using a bullet button you can't go ambi but the standard mag release location is pretty easy to manipulate with your support hand anyway.