PDA

View Full Version : Bolt Teeth Broken

BigCumfy
06-24-2012, 4:41 PM
I am very new to firearms and just finished building/assembling my 1st AR 15. I brought it to the range today to shoot it. Checked everything. Loaded it, chambered a round, turned safety off, pulled trigger, and dirt flies behind target. Then I check to see if my gas tube and BCG chambered the next round. It looked good, then I fired. Tried to fire the 3rd round and noticed my bolt jammed onto a bullet. I released the mag and cleared it out. Then tried again. Again, the bullet didn't go into the chamber and the bolt was pressing on it. As I clear the bullet out again, some metal fragments came out. I realize its the teeth on the bolt. My friend built the exact same rifle and his is fine. Only thing different was the BCG. However both NiB, just different companies. Any ideas why this would happen? Bad BCG? Too much/not enough headspace? I'm sure its my fault, however, any help would be appreciated. Again, I am very new to firearms and AR15's. This is my 1st rifle/ar15. Thanks in advance for your time and suggestions!

technique
06-24-2012, 4:49 PM
That's (although I've done it twice) not normal.
Return it to your manufacturer.

Share with us a few more details, what ammo, what companies make the parts your gun consists of, who assembled it...etc

Kappy
06-24-2012, 4:52 PM
Aside from the defect, a nice BCG. I would recommend contacting the company and seeing what they can do for you.

BigCumfy
06-24-2012, 4:55 PM
Return it to your manufacturer.

Share with us a few more details, what ammo, what companies make the parts your gun consists of, who assembled it...etc

Thanks for your prompt reply! I was using New Federal Americal Eagle .223 ammo purchased from Walmart. AR details below.

Spikes Upper/Lower
Spikes FN CHF 16" Barrel
RRA LPK
WMD NiB BCG

loosewreck
06-24-2012, 4:55 PM