PDA

View Full Version : AR 15 Iron Sights

TimothyW
06-22-2012, 4:40 PM
So I want to use my AR-15 for the CMP qualification shoot which requires iron sights. So I bought a set of UAG Tactical Precision Machined Aluminum QD Weaver Picatinny Front And Rear Combo and headed to the range today. I am not real happy with my purchase at this point but since I am new with the AR-15 maybe I am doing something wrong. The only adjustment for height is on the front sight - and I hit one of the stops so there is no more adjustment remaining the direction I need to go to get on paper.

So maybe I should have come here for advice on buying a nice set of Iron sights that has a fully adjustable rear sight - both height and windage as well as a front sight that has the height adjustment - seems that combo would give me the most versatility.

Can anyone reccomend a set of sights? Or if you are familiar with the sight set I bought maybe a suggestion on what I did wrong?

Appreciate the help!

SocomM4
06-22-2012, 4:46 PM
Are you using the small aperture on the rear? And Are you mounting the front sight to a gas block or quad rail hand guard ? Gas blocks and rails have 2 different heights usually. So you need the correct front sight.

LMT
Troy
Magpul
MIdwest
YHM

They all make a good set .

tomd1584
06-22-2012, 4:51 PM
You shouldn't need an adjustable rear sight to zero your rifle. Is the front mounted on a railed gas block? If so its possible the gas lock is not same plane as your upper receiver

the next step is to buy a quality set of irons. those are for airsoft.

rero360
06-22-2012, 4:52 PM
Well, from the looks of it, those are intended to be used on an airsoft gun, not a real rifle.

As to quality irons, and you really do want quality, I would recommend Troy, Daniel Defense and LMT. There are probably a few others (KAC, but super pricey and only flip up) but escape my mind.

Basically, if the price is to good to be true, then it is, just airsofter chinese junk.