PDA

View Full Version : ... Best Choices for AR-15 AMMO ...

.40Cal
06-22-2012, 8:15 AM
Hey guys,

Got my new Spikes Tactical (factory made) AR15. I've got a couple of questions.

1. Does it need "breaking-in" process for the barrel ?

2. What kind of ammo should I use while shooting for the first time ?

3. What type of ammo you suggest for HD, if needed ?

4. And last but not least, what type of ammo used for typical shooting range (cheap, I hope) ?

I'm kinda new to AR's, and it's the most priced gun I have till date. So, just wanna do the right things....

As always, thanks in advance!!! :)

NiteQwill
06-22-2012, 8:20 AM
No break in needed. Shoot it with whatever ammo you find.

SD ammo is another topic and is widely debated. Hornady TAP or Winchester Ranger are good places to start...

beastie050
06-22-2012, 9:11 AM
I think as the last guy said, shoot whatever you want.

However, I usually just shoot either

XM193
M855

Both work great :cool2:

luchador768
06-22-2012, 9:24 AM
Reload your own!! I'm at about $.18 a round. 62gr fmj, powder, primers and my own brass. It will give you a whole new level of understanding of what your gun can do! Putting 10 rounds that you made into a tiny group is one of the best feelings in shooting!

04slogoat
06-22-2012, 9:25 AM
Tula, wolf or bear ammo!

FX-05 Xiuhcoatl
06-22-2012, 9:29 AM
Roll your own.

SocomM4
06-22-2012, 9:51 AM
I read somewhere 100 rounds is a good start for the barrel.

For home defense , I use Hornady TAP 60gr. 24.99/20

Range, Tula 4.99/20 and PMC 5.99/20

Stockpile, Lake City.

Tula is cheap , but dirty as hell.

msand951
06-22-2012, 10:00 AM
Most of the time I shoot wolf. Its dirty but cheap. Great for plinking or just range shooting . If your going for accuracy reload your own. Ive gotten lazy so I just buy wolf. If you go to slickguns and look up ammo. You can find wolf for a 500rds for about 100bucks give or take.
Just clean your gun before and lube it and your GTG.

.40Cal
06-22-2012, 10:55 AM