PDA

View Full Version : When to hunt pigs?

drutledge79
06-19-2012, 4:22 PM
I am new to hunting pigs. Been at it maybe 5-6 times in the past 10 months and haven't even seen one. I read the CA pig hunting guide awhile back but I didn't take away any specific periods when hunting would be better. My perspective is from hunting on public land, but I imagine it's the same either way.

What seasons or time periods are important for pig hunting?

My current view is something like:

In the summer, they are easier to find because they have to forage more during the day and have to roam farther to find food. Watering holes may be less abundant so they will concentrate near sources of water if they are limited. On the flip side, they will be leaner.

In the other parts of the year they can and will be nocturnal if they experience pressure and can generally survive fine that way. Aside from the acorn drop being a big deal, I'm not real sure any other notable times during the year for them.

Can anyone fill any of these Taj Mahal sized gaps in my knowledge?

-dr

CSACANNONEER
06-19-2012, 4:33 PM
The best time to hunt them is when they are in the area of your hunting grounds. They can migrate.

toby
06-19-2012, 4:35 PM
I see less hunting pressure in the colder winter months, depending on area that can be a great advantage.

bigboarstopper
06-19-2012, 5:24 PM
For public land hogs, hunt in the wetter portions of winter. Hunt the latter part of the work week (wed-Friday).

Summertime is the worst time to hunt public land. Private land in the summer has water and harvest crop or cattle feed around to get them fed and watered through the summer. Public land cannot compete with private land this time of year.

Wintertime there is comparable food and water on public land to private. Although the hogs will always prefer the low pressure and better feed of private land the wet ground and abundant feed in winter will make the hogs travel more freely.