PDA

View Full Version : Which Leupold Mk4 Scope For Remington 700 chambered in .308

KMosley
06-19-2012, 4:02 PM
Im sure this has question has been asked numerous times already, but I am completely new to bolt action rifles and don't understand much of the previous threads I've found in a search.

With that being said, I recently purchased the Remington 700 SPS AAC-SD chambered in .308. The rifle features a 20" barrel with a 1 in 10" twist for the use of a heavier grain bullet. I intend on learning with this rifle and would like to accurately and precisely shoot from 100 yards all the way out to 1000 yards.

I have decided on a Leupold Mark 4 Scope, but with so many variants I'm really unsure of what would be best for my intended uses. Can anyone shed some insight on which model I should purchase?

AAShooter
06-19-2012, 4:19 PM
What factors bring you to decide on a Leupold Mark 4 Scope? The reason I ask is that I started pretty much in the same situation and folks more knowledgeable than I suggested there are better scopes for the money. The SWSA and Nightforce scopes can highly recommended. I ended up with one of these: http://swfa.com/SWFA-SS-5-20x50-Tactical-30mm-Riflescope-P51642.aspx at a much discounted price.

http://swfa.com/images/sshd520x50mqi.jpg

tacticalcity
06-19-2012, 4:20 PM
Lots of things to consider here.

DISTANCE & MAGNIFICATION

The all the way out to 1000 yards part suggests you want as much magnification as possible. Which can get expensive. Frankly, you're probably BSing yourself there. Few ranges offer that kind of distance, and not many shooters are that good. It is great to get there, but your rifle is not that rifle, you are probably not that shooter, so you probably don't need that massively expensive scope. So for the sake of the budget, perhaps you should be more realistic for now, and get a scope that meets todays needs and worry about tomorrow when it comes.