PDA

View Full Version : Noob wanting a Saiga AK-47

Knockoutz
06-17-2012, 7:20 PM
I am completely new to ak47's. I have been doing research for about a month and I am still feeling a bit overwhelmed and really need some input from experts.

I was wondering if this ak47 is worth it? (cost and quality)
http://www.atlanticfirearms.com/storeproduct655.aspx

Or is it better if I bought a regular saiga (non arsenal line and sporterized) and have it converted to a regular wood ak kit Or is it worth the double price to just buy an arsenal SGL21/SGL23 (or any other ak47 specific model) and change the furniture?

Some background information and what I am focusing on:
-The purpose I want the ak47 is just regular plinking shooting.
-Caliber I will be looking at will be the 7.62x39mm
-And basically really good Reliability and Durability
-Keeping it in the Russian ak47s category (Not interested in bulg, yugos, -roman, etc. thanks for refering though.)
-I know that the Vepr ak47 is great, but I am saving that up later for a .308 caliber.
-I will choose the stamped receiver over milled. (not really in that budget area)
-Price wise I don't mind as much.

Munny$hot
06-17-2012, 7:36 PM
If you have the funds I would buy Russian...

zfields
06-17-2012, 7:38 PM
Convert a saiga.

Knockoutz
06-17-2012, 9:41 PM
If you have the funds I would buy Russian...

i have the funds to buy russian. isn't a saiga a russian ak though? or is there any other ak's other than saiga, arsenal saiga, and veprs (even though veprs have rpk receivers)?

Dont_Shoot_im_Chinese
06-17-2012, 10:00 PM
Almost anything built around a saiga will be good

S470FM
06-17-2012, 10:30 PM