PDA

View Full Version : how to analyze groups?

dust feeder
06-16-2012, 5:48 PM
Begining my venture into percsion shooting and hunting. Just bought a 24" barrel savage model 10 .308 and tried to shoot for gorups for the first time ever last week. Mostly to find a good lower-end training ammo. Shot 8 different brands/grain: PPU 145, 165, 180, Federal 180 vital shok, federal fusion 180, Bishop Ranch 147, S&B 149, Federal 7.62 surpus XM80C.

All shootign was at 100 yards. It was a bit windy, somewhat on-and-off gusty and I really didn't pay too much attention to that.

Now Im trying to analyze the groups. Some rounds seemed to out perform others, but I'm also very new to this and am sure I played a part. Groups were 1.1" (best) up to 4-5".

The 4-5" gorups would all have a few shots within 1" then on or two 3-4" off. I'm assuming most of those were my fault b/c most ammo, (even the cheaper Fed) wouldn't have that kind of discrepancy. Is this a good assumption?

Also, some group's were strung out vertically and others horizontally. Other than my error, can I assume that most of the vertical stringing had to do with ammo charge consistancy if it was within about 1"?

How much of an effect would roughly a 10 mph wind have horizontally? maybe 1" drift? Ammo consistancy shouldn't play a part if horizontal stringing, right?

EDIT; how do I include th epics in the post so you guys don't need to click on them to open them?

I've attached pics of 4 groups for reference. please look at them and see if you can give me any advise as to what might be going on. Obviously, I know I'm the biggest factor but taking me out of the equation, I'm just trying to learn how to analyze what me or my rounds are doing.

You'll see, pic 5 is a almost perfict horizontal line. Does that mean the rounds all probably have a uniform charge and either the wind or I was pulling them right or left?

Versus pic 8 which has 2 shots close and one 2.5" low. Could that be one orund that has a lower charge?