PDA

View Full Version : AR 308 Complete Upper for Complete Newb

jhj32883
06-13-2012, 5:28 PM
Hello All,

I'm considering building an AR 308. Being the newb that I am, I want to purchase a complete upper. I would like an upper with a flat top receiver w/ picatinny rail, 20" barrel, direct impingement and free float handguard.

Also, I would like to spend in the ballpark of $700-$900. However, if there's something cheaper and of good quality, I'll totally take it.

Does someone offer a complete upper that matches what I'm seeking?

I was also wondering if I could take an A2 style upper and ditch the A2 carry handle, front sight assembly and handguard. I found one at DPMS:

http://dpmsinc.3dcartstores.com/20-308-Barrel-Assembly_p_160.html

I was thinking that I could just ditch the front sight assembly and replace it with a gas block. I assume I would use the .936 Micro or low profile gas block as the barrel is heavy contour and I would like to run a 13"+ hand guard over it. Would this work?

Also would I need a new gas tube if I went with just a gas block?

Can I just remove the A2 style carry handle? The description says it's an A3 flat top receiver. Will it have a picatinny rail under it or would I need to purchase one to make it a flat top receiver?

Also, does being an A3 receiver create any issues? I would like to have a full continuous rail at 12 o'clock (I don't like the look of a gap between the receiver and the barrel assembly). If the A3 receiver has a pic rail, will it match the pic rail if I go with quad rail hand guard?

Thanks in advance for the info.

Jay

Hoop
06-13-2012, 6:29 PM
JSESurplus has some regular 20" DPMS HBAR uppers for sale. You could get one of those and then buy some rifle length quad rail handguards and have a smith swap them out for you.

If you are a do it yourselfer you can build your own. They aren't difficult. You could assemble what you want for yourself for about 900.

1Luv4SF
06-13-2012, 9:36 PM