PDA

View Full Version : Does this meet residency requirements?

JeremyKX
06-13-2012, 12:47 AM
Hey all,

Will be buying a few guns coming in the next few months and want to make sure I am good to go residency-wise.

I am a college student so I live at an apartment while at school and parents house during the vacations and summers.

DL - Address is parents house
Apartment - Rental agreement with my name on it
Apartment utilities - My name is on it.

I have a car but it is not in my name.

I wasn't sure if it would be an issue if the address on the driver license was different than the one on the lease and utilities.

Thanks,
Jeremy

littlejake
06-13-2012, 10:05 AM
I'm not at all certain as I've always had a DL and car reg that matches. The only reason I'm giving an opinion is, I see no one has come through with any answer -- and there are people who know with certainty.

My opinion is: It's likely a problem that the addresses don't match. I am assuming that your DL address is in CA -- you didn't mention if your parents are in-state.

Is there a reason you do not / can not register your car to yourself and to the address on your DL?
(That's sort of none of my business -- just saying that would solve the issue.)

JeremyKX
06-13-2012, 11:23 AM
My parents do live in state. I guess I could register the car to myself but I was just checking if I am good to go off the bat with what I currently have.

If not, will probably go the car registration route

TheBest
06-13-2012, 11:27 AM
I have the same situation.

Any utility that you can't take with you (phone, cable, internet) with your name and address should work fine.

My DL has an old address, but my car reg is at my current address, and that works. The form you fill out should have the current address (the one with the utilities).

QQQ
06-13-2012, 2:34 PM
Similar situation here- I use my DL + FCC Amateur Radio license.

littlejake
06-13-2012, 6:25 PM
Similar situation here- I use my DL + FCC Amateur Radio license.