PDA

View Full Version : Gas Tubes


Baga
06-12-2012, 9:02 PM
Other than the length of Gas Tubes, is there a difference between a .223 and .308 gas tube or is it the same?

motorwerks
06-12-2012, 9:25 PM
Other than the length of Gas Tubes, is there a difference between a .223 and .308 gas tube or is it the same?

Yes and no.... DPMS uses a standard .223 gas tube. AR10 (Armalite) is about a hand inch longer. So we kind of need more information.

Baga
06-12-2012, 11:16 PM
Yes and no.... DPMS uses a standard .223 gas tube. AR10 (Armalite) is about a hand inch longer. So we kind of need more information.

Sorry for the minor info, here is more info...I'm building a AR .308 DPMS Platform and I'm looking for a mid-length gas tube. I am going to be using a DPMS Upper Receiver, DPMS 18" SASS Barrel, and a DPMS gas block. Is there a specific DPMS mid length gas tube needed for my setup?
I'm guessing this one will work? http://dpmsinc.3dcartstores.com/Mid-Length-Gas-Tube_p_2059.html

lwbyo1
06-12-2012, 11:38 PM
DPMS uses AR15 gas tubes.

http://www.jsesurplus.com/ar15carbinelengthgastubewpin-1.aspx

motorwerks
06-12-2012, 11:40 PM
in that case.... yup get any midlength tube and you're going to be fine.