PDA

View Full Version : Guns on boats...

Mako-Wish
06-11-2012, 6:45 PM
Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I have tried the search feature to no avail.

I would say about half the boat owners I have spoken with in Dana Point say they never go out without a gun onboard. I would like to get some info regarding the "rules" of carrying "just in case".

Some of my questions are:

Can you carry concealed loaded? Or loaded open carry while on a boat? We pay property tax on our boat, and we sleep on it pretty often. Doesn't this constitute a temporary residence?

What are the regulations on where you can shoot off-shore? I have heard everything from "as far away as is safe", "three miles out", and "only in international waters". The last doesn't seem true, but I'm no expert. When shark fishing, I always here people say shoot the shark before bringing it into your boat (mostly true with a pissed-off Mako). That is the main reason I want to carry onboard, and we have caught some smaller Mako within a mile of the coast before.

I did call the USCG once, and the dude I talked to said as far as they are concerned, the only rule is to not shoot within one mile of any of the Channel Islands. He actually said he recommends shooting Mako because they can "seem" dead, and then come back to life and destroy a boat.

Appreciate any information you guys can offer, and as always, any penal code references I can look up would be best.

Intimid8tor
06-11-2012, 7:15 PM
I took my guns out on my boat and they all fell overboard. It was the weirdest freak accident ever.

When I worked on a commercial boat, we carried a shotgun and a .22 revolver. We were never that far out, but with only 2 of us on the boat bringing a decent sized shark on board while it was snapping and thrashing wasn't going to happen.

If your boat is trailered, I would transport locked and unloaded until out of the harbor.

Solidux
06-11-2012, 7:29 PM