PDA

View Full Version : My First Shotgun

adrenaline
06-10-2012, 10:41 AM
Okay...I know there are a bunch of new 870 threads, but to keep to my tradition here on CalGuns I'm posting a new thread. (I've posted a new handgun, new centerfire rilfe, new .22lr rilfe, etc. threads).

About a month ago, the wife approved a purchase (can't sneak anything by her on the finances). She doesn't mind me really spending on what I want, she is just trying to understand the need. I told her I have no experience with shotguns and that I wanted the experience. That was all that was required. ** Next reason will be that it sucks for shooting clays. ;)

So the sub-forum that I've always skipped over has now become my favorite over the last several weeks.

I finally decided on a HD/plinking gun. I opted for synthetic since all my guns are evil black :D ....and decided to maintain the theme.

Yesterday....I bailed her out of jail, read the entire manual, took down the gun, became familiar with the action and handling of it, added some light lube to friction points (I didn't to the Remington Oil spray on the trigger assembly though).

This morning with more light, I took it outside for some pictures (because we know how useless threads are without them). :p

Thanks for everyone's post in this subforum...it really helps more than you know!

Remington 870 Express 12 GA. Synthetic

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8150/7358214836_348533e487_c.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/56589483@N06/7358214836/sizes/k/in/photostream/)
(click for larger size)

I'm keeping it simple for now (as is). If anything, I may try that Supercell Gel pad....but haven't taken this out to shoot. I want to put at least 200 rounds through her before I decide what changes I want to make. Most likely, I'll KISS it. Thanks for looking!

CK_32
06-10-2012, 1:49 PM
Nice pick up. Good looking gun.

wjc
06-10-2012, 6:47 PM
Nice. Congrats on the new EBS (Evil Black Shotgun).

Don't forget the range report. :D

Russ Florian