PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Clay Shooting?

dooodstevenn
06-08-2012, 1:03 AM
I want to go shoot some clay in a few weeks, and i have no clue how this stuff works, does anyone have a link or something for beginners? As of now, i have a few questions:

on a remington 870 express w/ 28in barrel, yes its a pump, i dont want to compete or anything i just want to shoot some single clays to practice waterfowl.

-what choke to use? what ive read has ranged from cylinder to improved modified chokes, and i just need to narrow something down, whats best for a beginner? am i correct assuming i would want something tighter since as a beginner i will take longer to get a sight picture and the target would be further away?

-what kind of patterns do you want?

-how does load size effect your pattern? what is best for a beginner?

KWalkerM
06-08-2012, 1:51 AM
Shot size 7 1/2, 8, or 9s. 9s are the smallest and you get more pellets so theoretically a wider spread. Choke modified for the 16 yard line and full for anything past 22 yards. For starters shoot with both eyes open it will help with target acquisition. Also you have plenty of time to hit the bird just dont let it start dropping or its tough to hit. Hold the gun about 2 feet above the top of the trap house. Just remeber shotguns are pointed and not aimed, cover the bird with the bead and pull the trigger.

As for range rules if its regulated trap houses you shoot 5 birds at each station then you move to the right. The person on the far left shoots first. The person who starts the round shoots first EVERY time when you move. Also try not to distract other people on the line.

Where are you shooting at?

dooodstevenn
06-08-2012, 3:32 AM