PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing AR/AK out of state, "fixing" and bringing back...

BlackReef
05-15-2007, 3:24 PM
Remember, I am still a newb here, and I am learning as I go, have a question:

Just out of curiousity, what if I were to drive to AZ, buy an AW, equip it with a Bullet Button, a 10 round magazine, (before crossing back to Cali, of course) is it now a CA Legal rifle that is free and clear for me to bring back to cali? There has got to be a catch with doing this. Please advise...

Nefarious
05-15-2007, 3:28 PM
Im talking out of my arse here, but if your a Cali resident ... I dont believe you can walk into a gunshop, purchase a firearm out of state, and take it home with you? I think they must first ship it to your Local FFL and you start the DROS here.... which would defeat the purpose of going out of state to purchase.

If your wanting something interesting :) have it sent to CWS ... they will Kalifornikate it for you if possible and ship it to your local FFL

BlackReef
05-15-2007, 3:30 PM
In a state like AZ, is it necessary for a DROS on a private-party sale? I thought that was just a Cali thing (Note: Private Party, not a FFL Dealer)

thedrickel
Federal law says you couldn't purchase it. But the seller may let you reconfigure it, pay for it, and then ship it to your CA FFL.

bwiese
For all practical purposes, you cannot buy guns outside CA as a CA resident. They have to run thru a CA FFL dealer. Period.

Doesn't matter if it's an AW, it's any gun. [There's no such thing as an AW in AZ anyway, it's just a long gun.]

(There are some C&R issues as well as if there's dual-residency complexities.)

As a CA resident, if you acquire a regular firearm outside CA, you've done so illegally, and violated both Federal and CA law (once bringing it back to CA).

adamsreeftank
05-15-2007, 3:35 PM