PDA

View Full Version : LEGAL BRIEF FILED ADDRESSING STANDARD OF REVIEW IN 9th CIRCUIT Dist. Ct.

libertarian4427
06-07-2012, 12:46 PM
Hi all, I’m new to California but a long time NRA and gun rights supporter. I’ve enjoyed reading up on California gun laws and all of the hot legal and political issues on this site since I moved. I saw this case posted in a couple of other forums so I thought I’d share it here as well. Amazing to see how hard our rights are being fought for here in CA!!!

On May 17, 2012, attorneys for the National Rifle Association, the San Francisco Veteran Police Officers Association, and several San Francisco gun owners filed a Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings in their legal challenge to San Francisco’s “locked-storage” law, as well as the City’s prohibition on the sale of “hollow-point” ammunition and all ammunition that does not “serve a sporting purpose.”

The lawsuit, Jackson v. City and County of San Francisco, was filed as a test case in May of 2009, before the McDonald v. Chicago decision in 2010, and in the wake of the 9th Circuit’s May 2, 2011 confirmation in Nordyke v. King that the Second Amendment is “incorporated“, i.e., that it protects against infringements by state and local governments.

The motion can be viewed here: http://michellawyers.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Jackson_Conformed-Motion-for-Partial-Judgment-On-The-Pleadings.pdf It asserts that the City has not raised a viable defense, and asks the Court to issue an injunction preventing enforcement and to declare the ordinances unconstitutional. At minimum, the motion will serve to narrow the issues, and to prevent the City from misdirecting the litigation with irrelevant distractions.