View Full Version : I have to brag a little

06-04-2012, 9:45 AM
I just went out shooting at Angeles on Saturday.

I went to sight in my new Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 SFP scope.

It's sitting on my Remington 700 SPS varmint, 26" heavy barrel.

The rifle still has the crappy/flimsy SPS stock, and a pretty heavy factory trigger.

However, after sighting it in, and getting it zero's at 100 yards, I loaded up some good quality factory ammo and went for it's first group.

I used Federal, 168 grain, Sierra Match King BTHP. Loaded one round at a time, and shooting from the bench, I made this 5 shot group! Measures .35 MOA. I was thoroughly impressed with my rifle, my scope, and myself. I'm pretty new to shooting rifles, so I really didn't think I'd be capable of something like this. And I really didn't even think my rifle would be capable of something like this. It's a factory 700 with a flimsy stock and a heavy trigger, basically straight off the shelf. Haven't done any of the things I have planned for it yet.

06-04-2012, 9:54 AM
It ain't bragging if you can do it...

Great shooting. How are you going to convince yourself to make changes to the rifle with shooting like that?

06-04-2012, 10:01 AM
Nah, it ain't braggin. Facts are facts. And the fact is you can plain out shoot. Good job, now push it out to 1/4 mile, 1/2 mile, 1 mile +. More variables will come into play. Wind, elevation, temperature...

06-04-2012, 10:20 AM
The SPS-V is no slouch even in its cheap stock...good shootin!

06-04-2012, 10:27 AM
Wow..great shooting...

06-04-2012, 10:36 AM
Thanks! I'm definitely going to be adding challenges to myself, so I can do this consistently.

A few other groups were averaging about 3/4 to 1moa, but that was also with cheap American Eagle ammo. I didn't expect that much of a difference between the good stuff and the cheap stuff. I'll be loading my own ammo, and will probably start with a load that matches that of the good federal stuff I used.