View Full Version : NEW to AR 15

06-03-2012, 6:54 PM
i'm quite new to the ar flatform. while reading about the firearm, i always come to read about complete lower and complete upper. Does this mean that if i buy a complete ar 15 from lets say Smith & Wesson and i buy a complete lower or upper from a daniel defense would i be able to join either of the two together, thereby having "two guns" at a lower cost? Would it be CA legal to do that?
Any output would be much appreciated..:(

06-03-2012, 7:16 PM
yes and yes. the platform is made to be mostly modular. unless either DD or S&W is doing something proprietary with their components, they should bolt right together. there's nothing illegal about switching out otherwise-legal parts.

Purple K
06-03-2012, 7:17 PM
Generally, just about any upper will fit on any lower. However, there are a few that use proprietary parts. Do a little research before you $pend any dollar$

Mossy Man
06-03-2012, 7:22 PM
i'm thinking about getting a 20" upper for my M&P sport later to swap out

and then once i can get my hands on a $99 complete lower.....just call it a day

the led farmer
06-03-2012, 7:51 PM
Why not just buy the lower and a parts kit, and then pick out the upper you really want instead?

Mossy Man
06-03-2012, 8:00 PM
Why not just buy the lower and a parts kit, and then pick out the upper you really want instead?

so you can have 2 complete rifles

06-03-2012, 8:01 PM
OP, it's exactly like how it sounds. The parts on an AR-15 are pretty much universal. I bought my AR lower back in December and saved my cash. My lower is made by a local company out of Marysville, CA.

I bought my upper a few weeks ago. It's made by Rock River Arms. Once I had the lower put together, all I had to do was buy the upper, slap it together, and throw a stock on. Boom, done.

I thought it was odd as well. Now it just makes sense. There are guys with one or two lowers and five or six different uppers for various uses.

06-03-2012, 8:45 PM