PDA

View Full Version : Remington Model 700 Scope Recommendations

beastie050
06-01-2012, 2:08 PM
So I just finally bought a Remington Model 700 SS 5-R Mil-Spec 308 Win 24". I'm a newbie in the world of bolt action rifles. What do you guys recommend recommend for scope base/rings and Scopes? I think I want to go down the Leupold route.

wjc
06-01-2012, 2:12 PM
What are you going to use it for?

My Winchester mod 70 is set up with a Leupold VX-II 3-9X40 for deer/pig/zombies.

I think they used Weaver rings and mounts when my gun dealer installed it.

beastie050
06-01-2012, 2:14 PM
What are you going to use it for?

My Winchester mod 70 is set up with a Leupold VX-II 3-9X40 for deer/pig/zombies.

I think they used Weaver rings and mounts when my gun dealer installed it.

Long range target shooting, maybe 500-700 yard range? I go to Angeles or the desert usually.

wjc
06-01-2012, 2:20 PM
Leupold VX-3 8.5-25x50mm Long Range Target $1k

Leupold Mark 4 8.5-25x50mm LR/T M1 $1.3 K

You could also look into Huskemaw scopes

http://huskemawoptics.com/

beastie050
06-01-2012, 2:26 PM
Leupold VX-3 8.5-25x50mm Long Range Target $1k

Leupold Mark 4 8.5-25x50mm LR/T M1 $1.3 K

You could also look into Huskemaw scopes

perfect, thanks

Coyotegunner
06-01-2012, 2:33 PM
I run a quite a few Leupolds up to the VX3 8.5-25.Not complaining because I own them and like them.For the the $500 plus range,I like the Zeiss stuff better.$1000 plus look at the Nightforce.
If you are just starting out,get around some of the long range guys,maybe a match or something.Look through theirs.Recently I was hot on a spotting scope and friends really pushed me to get a Swarovski.I got to looking at a Leica and it may be the way my eyes see,but the Leica is far clearer to me.Feel free to PM me and I can fill you in with a phone number on a 27 scope test I went through on my personal stuff.

Whitefang
06-01-2012, 3:09 PM
Well now that you gave us a distance, what is your price range?

beastie050