PDA

View Full Version : Using a gun to defend yourself during transport

MikeDre
06-01-2012, 12:12 PM
I havent been able to find an answer I feel comfortable enough with to trust to this question, but Im sure its been discussed.

Lets say you were on a drive bringing your gun somewhere to shoot it. Then something required you to access your weapon. For example someone is robbing people at gun point at a gas station you are at.

Would you be able to load your weapon and use it to defend yourself and/or others?
Could you go on the offensive if the robber begins murdering people, but isnt threatening you yet?

Jason P
06-01-2012, 12:48 PM
I AM NOT A LAWYER. Defense of a third person from death or great bodily injury. See CPC 197:

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=pen&group=00001-01000&file=187-199

BTW, please don't go vigilante. Not saying that's your intent, but on the internet in the year of our zombies 2012 it seems prudent to remind folks about deputizing themselves:)

Jason P
06-01-2012, 12:50 PM
BTW, if you shoot someone in California for any reason, you stand a good chance of fighting charges, and almost certainly being sued since we have no castle doctrine protection. Donate to the NRA and CGF today. Write a scathing letter to CRPA too.

paul0660
06-01-2012, 12:54 PM
It's a fine line.

MikeDre
06-01-2012, 1:05 PM
I AM NOT A LAWYER. Defense of a third person from death or great bodily injury. See CPC 197:

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=pen&group=00001-01000&file=187-199

BTW, please don't go vigilante. Not saying that's your intent, but on the internet in the year of our zombies 2012 it seems prudent to remind folks about deputizing themselves:)

Right. Its more that I want to know that if I need to defend myself outside of my home that I'm not giving myself up to being a criminal or in jail the rest of my life. That would be terrible.

I'm going to give the text a look over doing my best to get a good idea of it.