PDA

View Full Version : Gun cleaning

NeilM67
06-01-2012, 10:34 AM
I am new to CalGuns and am not sure if this is the right forum to ask this. I recently bought my first gun. It is a Colt 1911. The other day I was cleaning it after putting a couple hundred rounds through it. I was wondering if it was safe to use my parts washer that I have for my bike. The solvent is Parks Citrus Chain Brite. It is basically a standard biodegradable citrus based degreaser. Just figured I'd ask before I damage the finish of the gun.

Thanks

h0use
06-01-2012, 10:41 AM
use a good oil, get your self a bore snake

TwinStick
06-01-2012, 10:41 AM
Welcome and nice first gun!

Budd
06-01-2012, 10:47 AM
Submersing whole gun? Absolutely not! They are easy enough to clean without doing that to it. Even tearing it down - field strip is easy - just clean it with with whatever gun cleaner you like and cotton patches. Get a nylon brush and a brass brush, cleaning rod, bore brush, etc. Then lube it up lightly with some gun oil.

If you are totally unfamiliar with cleaning your gun - just youtube it.

NeilM67
06-01-2012, 11:07 AM
Thanks for the replies. I did purchase cleaning supplies when I bought the gun. I was thinking it would be easy to soak the recoil spring and guide, barrel, barrel bushing, barrel pin and maybe even the slide in the solvent while I was brushing out the frame. Is this a bad idea?

DArBad
06-01-2012, 11:18 AM
Thanks for the replies. I did purchase cleaning supplies when I bought the gun. I was thinking it would be easy to soak the recoil spring and guide, barrel, barrel bushing, barrel pin and maybe even the slide in the solvent while I was brushing out the frame. Is this a bad idea?

Ah, I see what you are getting. That be the case, may I recommend that you make some Eds Red, put some in a deep enough pan and you can brush away to your heart's content without fear. Gun will come out squeaky clean and protected.

I've done this on several 1911s already.

ihavenoidea