PDA

View Full Version : What is the most effective way to sell a gun?

Reynold
05-29-2012, 9:18 AM
Post an ad on Calguns classified? Sell to dealer? Visit gun stores and put on consignment? Other listing channels? This is my first time selling a gun (Glock 19), any advice is appreciated!

Vacaville
05-29-2012, 9:20 AM
Only way I've done it is on Calguns, worked just fine.

.45 ftw!
05-29-2012, 9:22 AM
I just sold one to a Calgunner. It was a piece of cake. Smooth transaction, good guy.

DVSmith
05-29-2012, 9:23 AM
I have never sold a gun, but have bought quite a few and my favorite places are the marketplace here, gunbroker, gunauction (formerly Auction Arms) and gunsamerica.

I would start with a listing here if it were me.

Or, just sell it to me for $250 and save yourself all that trouble! :43:

Root66
05-29-2012, 9:24 AM
A dealer will only give you a fraction of the real value.

orangeusa
05-29-2012, 9:25 AM
CALGUNS - piece of cake. Post for local sale only, post for no trades.
Read the rules a couple of times. But think of the numbers. 100k members, ~3000 folks online 24/7....

Call the buyer a few times before meeting - to weed out flakes.
And stand your ground by stating where you want to do the DROS. Just free advice - worth what you paid for it.

Good luck - it's fun!

!@#$
05-29-2012, 9:39 AM
g19 will be an easy sale here. $450-500

Ken Woodford
05-29-2012, 9:46 AM
I recently sold one to a Calgunner. I did a search and found 2 people who were looking for this particular gun and PM's them. It was so easy, it was great to meet him and we had a good chat while doing the paperwork.

I'd do it again if I ever sell one.

My only suggestion is to make your price reasonable. I don't try to get top dollar but I also don't give it away.

FX-05 Xiuhcoatl
05-29-2012, 9:49 AM
post it here on calguns, taking it to a gun store is like getting a slap in the face for what they offer

Exile Machine
05-29-2012, 9:51 AM