PDA

View Full Version : Double Feed Jams w/ Daniel Defense M4V5 & Magpul 10/30 PMAG

ThePerfectExposure
05-27-2012, 9:58 PM
Went to the range yesterday for the second time with my Daniel Defense M4V5 and 2x Magpul 10/30 PMAGs and I had (2) Double Feed jams.

Fortunately, I went with a Marine friend and who was able to quickly fix the jams .

It happened twice with both of my magazines and my friend suspected that it is probably due to the magazines.

I have a (a) Magpul 30 that is blocked to 10 rounds and (b) a brand new 10/30 Magpul from Riflegear, and the jam occured once for both magazines.

Since I am really new to this, what could the problem be?

cmace22
05-27-2012, 10:33 PM
In general:

Double feed- two live rounds trying to occupy the same space= magazine issue

Double feed/Failure to extract- spent case left in chamber with a live round in behind it= extractor

Failure to eject/Stovepipe- casing is caught between the slide and barrel with a live round trying to feed from the magazine= extractor/ejector, spring, buffer, under gassed, short stroking.

If its a true double feed its a magazine malfunction. Try a few different mags. Of the three malfunctions above, which one matches best with the issues you are having?

ThePerfectExposure
05-27-2012, 10:36 PM
In general:

Double feed- two live rounds trying to occupy the same space= magazine issue

Double feed/Failure to extract- spent case left in chamber with a live round in behind it= extractor

Failure to eject/Stovepipe- casing is caught between the slide and barrel with a live round trying to feed from the magazine= extractor/ejector, spring, buffer, under gassed, short stroking.

If its a true double feed its a magazine malfunction. Try a few different mags. Of the three malfunctions above, which one matches best with the issues you are having?

It is the first one

cmace22
05-27-2012, 10:40 PM