PDA

View Full Version : Best Optic for AR-15

scubamark13
05-10-2007, 9:41 AM
I am new to the Ar-15 scene and I am about to build my first. I was hoping for some help on which optic or red dot is the best buy for the money under $700.

1. I am not sure what kind of shooting I will be doing yet but I am sure it will be mostly outdoors and some indoor shooting.

2. I am looking for something that will hold its zero as well as perform in low light and bright light conditions.

3. I also will not be shooting long distances 100 yards or less.

4. My friends are Aimpoint and Trigicon fans but neither own one for me to try.

Any help you can give me would be a great help,

Thanks

Prc329
05-10-2007, 10:05 AM
I love my EOtech. If you want non magnified it is a very good choice. They do make a magnified one (uses a removable 4x I believe) but that will put you out of your price range.

scubamark13
05-10-2007, 10:20 AM
Which one are you using?

SuperSet
05-10-2007, 10:33 AM
If you're shooting 100y or less, then you'll want a red dot like the EOTech or AimPoint.
Heck, for $700, you can do the EOTech 512 + the 3X magnifier when it comes out later this summer.

Soldier415
05-10-2007, 10:42 AM
The Army uses the Aimpoint...but a large number of Soldiers buy the EoTech before deploying and use it in combat.

much better ergonomically and you don't have to worry as much about the aimpoint getting cuahgt on things as it protrudes so far above the weapon.

my 2 cents

Jicko
05-10-2007, 10:47 AM
1. I am not sure what kind of shooting I will be doing yet but I am sure it will be mostly outdoors and some indoor shooting.

4. My friends are Aimpoint and Trigicon fans but neither own one for me to try.

Any help you can give me would be a great help,

Thanks

EOTech or other red-dot/holo sights are meant for CQB/25yds to 100yds(or up to 200/300yds), yet the most effective use of these is really 25yds to 150yds....