PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions for my first AR

caliboy
05-26-2012, 1:14 AM
Hi everyone! Im looking to purchase my first AR in the following months and was hoping to get some suggestions from the pros on what would be best for a first timer. I have been browsing the forum and trying to see what people are shooting but it can get kind of overwhelming with all the different manufacturers out there. I am not completely new to firearms btw. My grandfather and uncles all have a nice collection of firearms and just wanted o start my own collection.

First of all, my budget is in the range of $700-$1300. I first thought about building one but now leaning closer to one already built and just adding a few things to it later on down the road. I am still learning the lingo and all the abbreviations so please forgive me if I ask what DROS and FFL and all that means. LOL!.

Also, when I am ready to purchase, where would be the best place to buy? I am in the south bay and I frequent target masters mostly. Reeds once in a while. I also visit tracy rifles and pistols on occasion. If you all have any suggestions please feel free to post!

TIA and looking forward to spending ALOT of time on here!

Gem1950
05-26-2012, 6:25 AM
3 1/2 years to make your first post?

Get a Colt!

NickLo
05-26-2012, 6:50 AM
I suggest building your AR from the ground up. You will save a few dollars over a finished buy, but more importantly you will learn the inner workings of the rifle.

Calguns has a great tutorial on how to put it all together and its all I used for my first build. http://www.calguns.net/OLL/assembly.html

Just my .02.

caliboy
05-26-2012, 7:21 AM
3 1/2 years to make your first post?

Get a Colt!