PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding TRO and submission of firearms

jgraphix73
05-22-2012, 3:30 PM
Hi Everyone,
I'm a new member to Calguns.net but I'm a member of Gun Owners of America for a year now and I am a USMC vet.
I have a question to ask which seems I have been getting conflicting answers to.

My question:
I was served a TRO (Temporary Restraining Order) a week ago and in those orders, I was told to submit any firearms in my possession to either LE or to sell through a FFL dealer.
*My lawyer will show that her TRO was based on false claims.

The tricky part:
My ex-wife knows I have three firearms (a pistol, shotgun and a assault rifle), but legally own the pistol only and my father owns the shotgun and the assault rifle. I had him take back his two guns and I did a PPT of my pistol to a friend. So I do not own anymore firearms and do not have any within my reach or at my residence.
My lawyer insist that I have to submit the two firearms that belong to my father to LE, but I told her that I do not own those and rightfully returned them to the owner (my father). She is bent on me submitting those two firearms to LE, but I did not want to do that right away as I wanted to make sure I was doing the right thing.

The help: I was informed by a Gun employee that I do not legally own those two firearms and that I properly gave then to the rightful owner. And that I should get an affidavit, notarized, that my father has them in his possession.
DID I satisfy the language the court order asked me to do?
IS there a more specific language where I can read or refer to in case my lawyer ask for more information?

Any help is greatly appreciated and I do not want to give someones firearm away when it is not mine.

Thank you very much,
Richard

Decoligny
05-22-2012, 3:40 PM
If you want to be 100% in the clear, simply have your father submit an Operation of Law form for interfamilial transfer of firearms.