PDA

View Full Version : featureless AK chambered in NATO where to buy

ainako
05-22-2012, 9:55 AM
I'm an ultra newb and would like to build an AR in the future but would like something now just in case some ban hammers are laid down in the future. The reason why I want a featureless AK is that I would like to use 30 mags and have an easy maintenance, reliable firearm in (I know AK enthusiasts might not like this) 556. I was looking a the saiga iz or even a WASR, I'm not opposed to building one but I can't find much info on how or even if the parts are available to us. I'm in the 91706 area to give an idea of my location.

Capybara
05-22-2012, 9:57 AM
Do you already own 30 round AK mags?

zfields
05-22-2012, 10:01 AM
Just get a saiga. Already featureless. You can put together an AR for sub 700 pretty easy, so if an AR is your goal, might as well just go that route.

ainako
05-22-2012, 10:21 AM
I don't have 30 mags, my newbness is definitely showing, I thought they are available to buy somehow. AR is my eventual goal and will build my own in the future, but I would like a reliable "out of the box" rifle first. Is the saiga IZ a good model? where can I get one? I would really like an arsenal 106fr but I think those are on the ban list. Also I heard of a reloading problem the AK has about the bolt not locking back on the last round or something but can't it be modded so that the bolt locks back after the last round?

zfields
05-22-2012, 10:23 AM
You need to read through the magazine and AW rifle stickies a few times.

Most Ak's don't lock back (a few specific oddball countries produced their incarnations of the AK platform that had a feature to lock back). Some of the "fixes" to do that are different followers in the magazines, which is worthless. As soon as you pop out the mag the carrier slams forward.

I wouldn't call it a problem, its just part of the rifle. Yes the saiga is fine.

Freagan
05-22-2012, 10:24 AM